Catching Up

by NAA

I just flew back from a visit to New Zealand. I say that like it was a quick little jaunt, when in fact the journey home took over 45 hours. While I loved my time in the southern hemisphere, I’m hurting with jetlag, which isn’t helping productivity. I have some stories and photos up my sleeve, but until I can get those polished up for you, here is a snippet from an article I did for Fuji, the official bike supplier for our team, Diadora-Pasta Zara. (The article includes a recipe for Bircher style müsli, my favorite pre-ride breakfast!)

…During a typical racing season, I spend nearly eight months on the road, so during the fall and winter, I really enjoy being at home in Graz. Don’t get me wrong; I love the empowering experience and exhilaration of exploring entirely unfamiliar places, and I’m not sure I’ll ever get enough of that fix. But there’s also a part of me that longs to feel settled, grounded, and home. I guess you could say I miss my Heimat. Overall, I think this unconventional profession strikes a perfect balance for me: I travel like crazy during the season, then get to recharge at home during the off-season before doing it all over again…

To read the whole article, click here!

